Who We Are

Meet our staff members

The team at Stellenbosch Journalism comprises of permanent staff, part-time specialist lecturers from industry, and postdoctoral and visiting researchers.

Departmental Chair

Prof Herman Wasserman
Send e-mail
PhD and MA Journalism Convener

Prof Gabriël Botma
Send e-mail
+27 21 808 3488
Senior Lecturer

Dr Marenet Jordaan
Send e-mail
+27 21 808 2625
BA Hons Convener  

Ms Anneli Groenewald
Send e-mail
Administrative officer

Ms Elizabeth Newman
Send e-mail
+27 21 808 3488
Departmental Assistant

Ms Lijuan Williams-Daniels
Send e-mail
+27 21 808 3488
NRF-SA Research Chair in SciCom 

Prof Mehita Iqani
Send e-mail
SciCom Communication Officer

Mr Fumani Jwara
Send e-mail

Part-Time Departmental Assistant

Ms Saffron Greeff

Research Fellows

Extraordinary Professor

  • Prof George Claassen
  • Prof Sean Jacobs

Extraordinary lecturer

  • Dr Michael Eckardt

Research Fellows

  • Mr Johannes de Villiers
  • Dr Bevelyn Dube
  • Dr Gerda Engelbrecht
  • Dr Bimbo Fafowora
  • Dr Anthony Gunde
  • Dr Ivan Lukanda
  • Dr Leonard Makombe
  • Dr Sibongile Mpofu
    Dr Mphathisi Ndlovu
  • Dr Thulani Tshabangu
  • Dr Fanie van Rooyen
Specialist lecturers
The Department of Journalism ensures that its practical teaching is up to date with the latest industry standards. To this end, we draw on the expertise of visiting specialist lecturers.

Important staff members from our past

Chair / Head of DepartmentYear
Dr Gabriël Botma2012-2014
Prof Piet Cillié1978-1983
Prof Johannes Grosskopf1984-1993
Prof George Claassen1994-2000
Prof Lizette Rabe2001-2011
Rykie van Reenen-fellowsYear
Mr Bun Booyens1998-1999
Dr Johan Retief2000-2002
Mr Tobie Wiese2002-2004
Mr Gabriël Botma2005
Mr Dirk Jordaan2006
Ms Jacolette Kloppers2007
Mr Gert Coetzee2008
Ms Anastasia de Vries2009
Ms Jo-Ann Floris2010
Ms Hannelie Booyens2011
Ms Willemien Brummer2012
Mr Johannes de Villers2013-2014
Ms Jeanne van der Merwe2015
Ms Corli van der Merwe2016
Mr Andre Gouws2017-2018
Ms Carryn-Ann Nel2019
Ms Anneli Groenewald2020-2021
Administrative StaffYear
Mrs Winie Rousseau1978 - 1994
Mrs Leona Amoraal1978 - 2004
Ms Bevely Februarie2004 - 2007
Ms Chantal Newman2007 - 2009
Ms Elizabeth Newman2009 - present
Scroll to Top