2023 Graduation Prize-Giving Gallery

The Department of Journalism hosted its 2023 graduates for a fun celebration and prize-giving ceremony on Monday 25 March. Here are some highlights from the evening.


The evening started of with sparkly drinks under sparkly lights in our departmental building’s courtyard.


Seasoned broadcaster, Lester Kiewit, gave an address to students and their guests on the value of trust in the media.


It was wonderful that almost all the 2023 BAHons Journalism graduates could join us for the celebration. Here they are with their mentor, Anneli Groenewald.


We also celebrated our most recent Master’s graduates. From the left are Prof Lizette Rabe and her student Carryn-Ann Nel, Ndlelantle Pinyana who was supervised by Prof Gawie Botma, and Nicolene Louw, supervised by Dr Marenet Jordaan (far right).


Joseph Bracken (left) received the prize for the best student in Investigative Journalism. With him is chair of the Department, Prof Herman Wasserman.


Daniel Roodt received the Media24TV Prize for the best student in Media Entrepreneurship. With him is Izelle Venter, general manager of Media24 TV, who lectured the students in this module.


The Piet Cillié Prize for Exceptional Writing and Clarity of Expression was awarded to Hannah Theron (left). Izelle Venter, general manager of Media24TV, presented the prize on behalf of Media24.


Thameenah Daniels (left) received the Ton Vosloo Prize for Leadership. With her is Izelle Venter, general manager of Media24 TV, who presented the prize on behalf of Media24.


Jess Holing (left) was awarded the Golden Pen Award for the best in-depth project. With her is the honours students’ mentor and lecturer Anneli Groenewald. Jess also won the Yunus Mohamed Prize for the best student in Photojournalism (sponsored by Media24).


The big winner of the evening was Talia Kincaid (left), who was received the Daily Maverick Prize as the overall best-performing student from the BAHons Journalism class of 2023. Janet Heard, managing editor of the Daily Maverick, attended the event to present the prize. Talia also received the Christina Scott Prize for the best student in Science Journalism (as sponsored by Prof George Claassen).


All the honours prize-winners celebrating together are (at the back from left) Daniel Roodt, Thameenah Daniels and Jess Holing, and in front (from left) Talia Kincaid, Hannah Theron and Joseph Bracken.


The academic and support staff of the Department of Journalism also joined in the festivities.


Thanks to Kings Catering all the graduates and their guests were treated to a royal feast.