Department celebrates its 2023 graduates

The Department of Journalism celebrated the achievements of the 2023 honours, Master’s and PhD students during its annual graduation event.

Family and friends joined the festivities that took place after the official graduation ceremony on Monday 25 March.

Lester Kiewit, seasoned broadcaster at Cape Talk and this year also specialist lecturer in the department, gave an address in which he emphasised the value of trust in the media and the importance of local news to communities. Kiewit encouraged the graduates to go out and make a difference in other people’s lives – regardless of where they may end up.

Several prizes were awarded to honours students, with Talia Kincaid walking away with the Daily Maverick prize as the top performing student from the BAHons Journalism class of 2023.

Other prizes awarded on the evening are:

  • The Christina Scott Prize for the best student in Science Journalism (Talia Kincaid)
  • The award for the best student in Investigative Journalism(Joseph Bracken)
  • The Media24TV Prize for the best student in Media Entrepreneurship (Daniel Roodt)
  • The Yunus Mohamed Prize for the best student in Photojournalism (Jess Holing)
  • The Piet Cillié Prize for exceptional writing and clarity of expression (Hannah Theron)
  • The Ton Vosloo prize for leadership (Thameenah Daniels)
  • The Golden Pen Award for the best In-depth Project (Jess Holing)

Nicolene Louw, Carryn-Ann Nel and Ndlelantle Pinyana attended the function as MA Journalism graduates.Dr Fred Ochoti, who completed his doctorate under the supervision of Prof Gawie Botma, was,unfortunately, not able to travel from Kenya for the ceremony.



Prize winners (2023)


Lester and Herman